The Philosopher’s Zone

Last Thursday I had to drive from Baltimore to State College, PA for the 16th Congress of the US National Congress on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics to give a talk in one of the sessions.  I gave a condensed version of the kinetic theory of coupled oscillators talk I gave in Warwick last month.  The theme of the session was on recent advances in nonlinear dynamics so the topics were quite diverse.  I’m not sure my talk resonated with the audience.  The only question I received was how was this related to the NIH!

During the six hours of driving I did going back and forth, I listened to podcasts of the Australian radio show The Philosopher’s Zone.  This is a wonderful program hosted by Alan Saunders, who has a PhD in philosophy and is also a food expert.  Every show consists of Saunders talking to a guest, who is usually a philosopher but not always, about either a book she has recently written or some other philosophical topic.  The topics can range from the philosophy of Buffy the Vampire Slayer to Stoicism and everything in between.  Saunders has a knack for making complex philosophical ideas accessible and interesting.  In addition to The Philosopher’s Zone, I still regularly listen to Quirks and Quarks, The Science Show, Radio Lab, and The Naked Scientists.  I’ll also sneak in All in the Mind from time to time.

Leave a Reply

